An innovative, scientific positioning focused on Data Science

One of Keyrus's strategic priorities is Data Science, the science of processing massive quantities of multi-structured data. Big Data requires that comprehensive approaches be designed for collecting, processing, analysing, categorizing, storing and valorizing data. The methods used for transforming data into structured, integrated information, then into knowledge, are at the heart of this priority. This is how “Data Science” is commonly defined.

With Data Science, companies can enhance and give real, operational value to the use of their Big Data.

Data Science to meet the challenge of Big Data

Data Science is multidisciplinary. It consists of:

  • Applied mathematics: in particular, statistics, probability, linear algebra, etc.
  • Advanced algorithmic-type computer science: Machine Learning, MapReduce, Hadoop, Spark, etc.
  • Management: decision theory, data visualization, etc.

These three disciplines are complementary and indissociable. They form a convergent, complex whole, which can be defined as the science of massive quantities of multi-structured data or Data Science.

Actual uses of Data Science

The actual application of Data Science contributes, among other things, to:

  • The exploiting of metadata to extract its significance and its direction (semantic analysis).
  • Data visualization
  • Large-scale learning of models such as visual models, based on large masses of on-line data.

However, any uncertainty or imprecision in the Data must be integrated in the various stages of managing this data: approaches by intervals, probability, etc. The large-scale, continuous integration of heterogeneous data, with diverse semantics, also requires new techniques of automatic classification. Finally, social relationships between users must be able to be put to good use to improve search quality, in particular with the techniques of recommendations, social graphing, etc.

Data science to meet what challenge?

For businesses, the challenge consists of processing and activating the available data in order to improve their competitiveness. In addition to "standard", so-called "structured" data, which is already handled and exploited by all types of companies through Business Intelligence, there are now massive quantities of unstructured data, coming from the Internet, social media, mobiles and Smart devices. This is a "tsunami" of data or a "dataclysm": more data was produced over just ten years than was ever produced by humanity since its origins.

Keyrus: Associating BI and Big Data Analytics

Keyrus's scientific strategy can be defined as the intention to investigate this new interdisciplinary field of "Data Science", or the Science of Massive, Multi-structured Data. This process lies at the meeting-point of applied mathematics, advanced computer science and management.

This scientific research specialisation is part of the continuing work on Business Intelligence computing in which Keyrus has been a recognized specialist for nearly 20 years.

This strategic positioning guides the Group's R&D policy towards the combined contribution of its original profession, Business Intelligence, and the advent of the analysis of massive, multi-structured data, as much at the methodological level as at the technological one (platform and services).

  • Innovation through data
  • Big Data Architectures and TCO optimization
  • Data Science consulting
  • Big Data Agile Laboratory
  • Big Data Service Factory

Un positionnement scientifique novateur focalisé sur la Data Science

Keyrus fait de la science des données l’une de ses priorités stratégiques. Les Big Data imposent de concevoir des approches complètes pour collecter, traiter, analyser, catégoriser, stocker et valoriser les données. Les méthodes les transformant en informations structurées et intégrées, puis en connaissances, figurent au cœur de cette priorité. C’est ainsi que l’on définit communément la "science des données" ou "Data Science".

La science des données permet aux entreprises d’améliorer et de valoriser de manière concrète et opérationnelle l’exploitation de leurs Big Data.

La science des données pour relever le défi du Big Data

La science des données est pluridisciplinaire. Elle est constituée :

  • Des mathématiques appliquées : notamment statistiques, probabilités, algèbre linéaire…
  • De l’informatique avancée de type algorithmique : Machine Learning, MapReduce, Hadoop, Spark…
  • Du Management : théorie de la décision, visualisation des données…


Les trois disciplines sont complémentaires et indissociables. Elles forment un tout, convergeant et complexe, que l’on peut définir comme la science des données massives et multi-structurées ou Data Science.

La science des données en utilisation concrète

L’application concrète de la science des données favorise, entre autres :

  • L’exploitation des métadonnées pour en extraire la signification et la direction (analyse sémantique).
  • La visualisation des données.
  • L’apprentissage à grande échelle de modèles comme les modèles visuels, à partir de grandes masses de données en ligne.

Toutefois, l’incertitude ou l’imprécision des données doit être intégrée dans les différentes étapes de gestion de ces mêmes données : approches par intervalles, probabilistes.... L’intégration à grande échelle et en continu de données hétérogènes, avec des sémantiques diverses, nécessite aussi de nouvelles techniques de classification automatique. Enfin, les relations sociales entre utilisateurs doivent pouvoir être exploitées avantageusement pour améliorer la qualité des recherches, notamment avec des techniques de recommandations, de graphiques de connexions sociales, etc.

La science des données pour quel challenge ?

Pour les entreprises, le défi consiste à traiter et à activer les données disponibles afin d'améliorer leur compétitivité. Outre les données « classiques », dites « structurées », déjà manipulées et exploitées par tout type de sociétés par le biais de l'Intelligence d'affaires, s'ajoutent les données massives, non structurées, issues du Web, des médias sociaux, du mobile et des dispositifs intelligents (Smart devices). Ce tsunami de données ou « dataclysme » représente en une dizaine d’années seulement la production de données la plus importante jamais produite par l’humanité depuis son origine.


Keyrus : associer l'Intelligence d'affaires au Big Data Analytics

La stratégie scientifique de Keyrus se définit par la volonté d’investiguer ce nouveau champ multidisciplinaire : la Science des Données Massives et Multi-structurées. Processus qui se situe à la rencontre des mathématiques appliquées, de l’informatique avancée et du management.

Cette spécialisation de l’activité de recherches scientifiques s’inscrit dans la continuité des travaux sur l’informatique décisionnelle dont Keyrus s’est fait le spécialiste reconnu depuis près de 20 ans. 

Ce positionnement stratégique guide la politique de R&D du groupe tournée vers la contribution conjointe de son métier d’origine, l’informatique décisionnel (ou Intelligence d'affaires), et de l’avènement de l’analyse des données massives et multi-structurées, tant sur le plan méthodologique que sur le plan technologique (plate-forme et services).

  • L’innovation par la donnée.
  • Architectures Big Data & Optimisation du Coût total de Possession (TCO).
  • Conseil en Science des données. 
  • Laboratoire agile Big Data.
  • Big Data Service Factory.